Compliance, safety, and accountability (CSA)

Glossary / Fleet compliance / Compliance, safety, and accountability (CSA)

Compliance, Safety, and Accountability, also known as CSA, is a program implemented by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) in the United States to ensure that commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers and their companies are operating safely and in compliance with federal regulations. This program was introduced in 2010 as part of the Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act and aims to reduce crashes, injuries, and fatalities involving CMVs.

The CSA program is based on a
scoring system, which evaluates the safety performance of CMV drivers and companies. The scoring system is called the Safety Measurement System (SMS) and it is used to identify high-risk carriers and drivers. The SMS uses seven categories to measure the safety performance of carriers and drivers: Unsafe Driving, Hours-of-Service Compliance, Driver Fitness, Controlled Substances and Alcohol, Vehicle Maintenance, Hazardous Materials (HM) Compliance, and Crash Indicator. Each category is assigned a score based on the number and severity of violations found during inspections and investigations.

The CSA program also includes a range of interventions that can be taken against carriers and drivers who fail to comply with safety regulations. These
interventions can include warning letters, fines, out-of-service orders, and even revocation of a carrier’s operating authority. The goal of these interventions is to bring carriers and drivers into compliance with safety regulations and reduce the risk of crashes on the nation’s highways.

Learn more about ELD Compliance solutions from Motive

Frequently Asked Questions

Compliance, Safety, and Accountability (CSA) is a Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) program that assesses the safety performance of carriers and drivers through various metrics such as crash history, inspection results, and violations. The goal of CSA is to reduce crashes, injuries, and fatalities involving large trucks and buses by promoting safety compliance and accountability in the commercial motor vehicle industry.

The three components of Compliance, Safety, and Accountability (CSA) are:

1. Measurement: CSA uses data from inspections, crash reports, and other sources to measure and assess a carrier’s
safety performance.
2. Evaluation: The evaluation component involves analyzing carrier safety performance to identify areas of concern or non-compliance with safety regulations.
3. Intervention: Intervention focuses on taking appropriate actions, such as warnings, fines, or audits, to address safety violations and improve carrier compliance with safety regulations.

The 7 CSA BASICs, also known as the Compliance, Safety, Accountability BASICs, are as follows:

1. Unsafe driving: Violations related to reckless or careless driving behavior.

2. Hours-of-service compliance: Violations related to exceeding the allowable limits of driving and on-duty hours.

3. Driver fitness: Violations related to driver qualifications, licensing, and medical requirements.

4. Controlled substances/alcohol: Violations related to drug and alcohol use and testing.

5. Vehicle maintenance: Violations related to inadequate vehicle maintenance and repairs.

6. Hazardous materials compliance: Violations related to the handling and transportation of hazardous materials.

7. Crash indicator: Records of crash involvement.

These BASICs are used by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) to
evaluate the safety performance of commercial motor carriers.

A good CSA score for a trucking company is one that is below the FMCSA’s intervention threshold. The CSA score is a safety rating based on a carrier’s compliance with federal regulations. Scores above the threshold can result in increased scrutiny, fines, and potential loss of operating authority. The threshold varies based on the type of carrier and the number of safety events reported. A lower score indicates a safer carrier.